A.P.Forest Department


Bamboo/Timber depots

There are Timber and Bamboo Depots run by both the Government and private people in the state.

In the Govt. Depots, the produce extracted from the forests by the department or seized and confiscated in forest offences is transported and stocked here. This produce is sold tin public auctions by the department after giving wide publicity.

The private depots will be procuring the produce either from the open auctions conducted by the forest departments throughout India or import the same from other countries like Malaysia, Myanmar, Ceylon, Indonesia etc; They also procure the produce from the local farmers who sell their produce obtained from their pattalands. As per AP Forest Act, these depot owners are supposed to run their depots only after obtaining the required permissions from the jurisdictional Divisional Forest Officers and render the accounts of receipt and disposals of forest produce in their depots to the concerned Divisional Forest Officers.

List of Government Timber Depots

S.No. Circle name Division Name Depot name Name of the District
1 Visakhapatnam Narsipatnam GTD Golugonda Visakhapatnam
GTD Narsipatnam
GTD, Sileru
Visakhapatnam GBSD, Chodavaram
GBSD, Chilakalagedda
Vizianagaram GTD, Phoolbaugh, Vizianagaram Vizianagaram
GBSD, Chilakalagedda
2 Guntur LD Giddalur GTD, DiguvanaMetta Prakasam
GTD, Papinenipalli
Nellore Kanigiri(RS) Nellore
3 FDPT Srisailam Atmakur WLM GTD Bairluty Kurnool
Markapur WLM Markapur WLM GTD Dornala
4 WLM Tirupati WL Chittoor East Tirupati Chittoor
WL Rajampet Rajampet
WLM Tirupati Bhakarapet
5 Kurnool Nandyal(WL) Tirupati Kurnool
G.T.D. Rudravaram
Proddutur(WL) GTD, Thamballapalli Kadapa
Kadapa Kadapa RS Depot
6 Rajahmundry LD Rajahmundry GTD,Rajamahendravaram E.Godavari
LD Jangareddygudem GTD,Jangareddygudem W.Godavari
LD,Chintur GTD, Chintur E.Godavari
7 Anathapuram Chittoor West Sandal wood Depot Chittoor

A.P.Forest Department